Index

Theme


PSi20 will focus on the contrasting and intertwined themes of “Avant-garde, Tradition, Community.” These themes have diverse relationships to performance and underpin interweaving histories of arts and other performative actions alongside the development of performance studies. They are parallel, intercultural and co-located terms that have crossed borders wherein relationships between arts and cultures are renegotiated and transformed.

At this second Psi conference in Asia and the first hosted by an Asian university, we aim to examine these terms in the Asian context and wider cultural-historical geographical contexts. Notions of the avant-garde, of tradition and of community, while broadly relevant in global performance studies, have unique and enduring connections to Asian performance and modernity. PSi 20 will investigate the history surrounding and informing these themes in performance studies.

Each of these influential terms is expressive of contestation and paradox. The term Avant-garde fosters notions of innovation and rebellion for performance practitioners and scholars in the West, and has obtained strong Chinese characteristics since the late 1970s. In broader Asian contexts while its meanings are debated, it has been the harbinger of modernity and interculturalism.

Tradition is often contrasted to the avant-garde (although historical avant-gardes have traditional aspects). Tradition is a diverse concept that connects to modern realism and performances that arise in local community and indigenous contexts. In Asian societies, traditional performance genres include Chinese opera, Noh, Kathakali and Wayang, which have often been utilized, de-contextualized and deconstructed, by Western avant-garde artists. This in turn has inspired a trend among Asian and other non-western artists to engage in processes of “rediscovering” and translating their own cultural traditions. Various avant-garde approaches to traditions have stimulated a great deal of intercultural and cosmopolitical debates. Scholars have also paid attention to ideas of invented traditions and the role of traditional performance in the formation of non-western modernities. The ways that notions of the avant-garde and of tradition are closely connected in Asia and elsewhere is a key question that we highlight for consideration.

Our focus on Community refers to grassroots, nonprofessional artistic, neighbourhoods where pre-modern traditions, modern traditions, and the avant-garde may converge.

While a focus on Asian expressions of these themes is highlighted, Psi 20 welcomes papers, panels, workshops, and performances exploring many issues related to the three key words in various cultural and intercultural contexts. We invite consideration of these themes in comparative and intercultural studies, studies across western and non-western sites and in relation to globalization, modernity, and contemporaneity. Avant-garde, Tradition and Community are positioned here as umbrella terms.

We invite proposals on a range of thematic topics that may include:

  • How are notions of the avant-garde, tradition and community linked within a larger global understanding of performance and performance studies?
  • How do these themes relate to perceptions and practices of performance in different places and cultures?
  • How are notions of the avant-garde and tradition understood, theorised, practiced and debated where you are?
  • How do Asian and other non-western praxis relate to discourses and experiences of performance in the broadly defined sphere of Western avant-garde praxis?
  • How is the avant-garde associated with traditional performance? Opposed, derivative, parallel, with blurred edges?
  • How are the terms avant-garde, tradition and community defined in the 21 century? In local, regional and global contexts?
  • How do notions and/or expressions of cultural difference influence our perceptions and experience of these terms? What are the border crossings and blockades to an intercultural understanding of these terms, in the wake of globalization?
  • How meaningful are the terms in the context of cultural, geographical, and historical boundaries? Do we need new terms and formations?
  • Does performance studies in your institution involve artists off campus? Does it involve non-academic, non-artistic communities?
  • How do performing/performance artists view non-artistic communities - consumers, beneficiaries, participants, or/and collaborators?
  • What are the relations between aesthetic performance studies and social performance studies?

目录

会议主题


第20届人类表演学国际大会将聚焦于“先锋·传统·社群”这三个既对立又相交的主题。 这三个主题与人类表演有着各种不同的关系,在人类表演学的发展过程中支撑着艺术与其它表演活动相互交织的历史。它们是平行、跨文化、并置的主题,跨越了不同领域的边界,重构和转化了艺术和文化之间的关系。

此届大会是第二次在亚洲召开、首次由一个亚洲大学主办的人类表演学国际大会,我们将强调大会主题的亚洲文化背景,并将其置于更广阔的文化、历史、地理背景中。这三个主题与全球人类表演学广泛相关,同时又与亚洲的人类表演及现代性有着独特而持久的关系。大会将探索人类表演学中伴随并昭示了这三个主题的历史。

“先锋·传统·社群”每一个都是极有影响而又充满争议和悖论的概念。 “先锋”意味着西方表演实践者和人类表演学者创新和反叛的思想,自1970年代末起它又带上了强烈的中国特色。尽管一直存有争议, 但对广义的亚洲文化而言,“先锋”预示了现代性和跨文化主义。

在西方,“传统”通常作为与“先锋”相对的概念(尽管从历史角度看先锋也有其传统)。这个概念含义丰富,指的是现代的写实主义以及源于当地社群和本土文化的人类表演活动。在亚洲,传统表演样式包括中国戏曲、日本能乐、印度卡塔卡利和印度尼西亚爪哇的哇扬戏,这些古老的表演艺术形式经常被西方先锋艺术家拿去进行去语境化和解构的先锋实验;这反过来又引发了亚洲及其他非西方艺术家们“重新发现”和诠释自己文化传统的潮流。以各种不同的“先锋”手段表现传统的做法已经引发了大量跨文化的、全球政治性的争论。学者们同样关注“被发明”的传统,以及传统表演在非西方社会现代性形成进程中所扮演的角色。我们将重点考量“先锋”与“传统”在亚洲及其它地区是如何紧密融合的。

我们关注的“社群” 是指非专业艺术的团体或社区,那里汇集了前现代传统、现代传统和先锋的各种元素。

虽然第20届人类表演学国际大会的焦点是亚洲,本次大会也欢迎在不同文化背景和跨文化背景中探索与这三个关键词相关问题的各种论文、专题讨论组、工作坊和演出。我们期待不同形式的研究,诸如比较研究、跨文化研究、在西方和非西方地区进行的实地研究,以及与全球化、现代性和当代性有关的研究。 “先锋·传统·社群” 在此是三个涵盖广阔的术语。

我们期待大家就包括以下问题在内的主题踊跃投稿:

  • 在全球的人类表演及其研究的视野中,人类表演学与先锋艺术有什么样的关系?
  • 在不同地区和文化中,这三个概念是如何与人类表演的认知与实践相联系的?
  • 在你的国家或地区,人们是如何理解先锋艺术并形成理论的?又是如何实践的?对此有什么样的争议?
  • 在广义的西方先锋实践的框架中,亚洲和其它非西方的实践如何与人类表演的表述与体验相联系?
  • 先锋如何与传统的表演艺术相关联?两者是对立的关系?派生的关系?平行的关系?抑或是边界模糊?
  • 21世纪, “先锋”、“传统”和“社群”这些概念应该如何在本土、区域和全球的不同层面上进行定义?
  • 文化差异这个概念和/或表述如何影响我们对“先锋”、“传统”和“社群”的认知与体验?随着全球化的进程,在这些概念的跨文化理解中有哪些通道和阻碍?
  • 这些概念在定义文化、地理、历史和文化的边界时具有多大的意义?我们需要创造新的概念和形式吗?
  • 你所在学校的人类表演学研究是否有校外人员参与?是否有非学院派、非艺术的社群的参与?
  • 表演艺术家如何看待非艺术的社群?他们是消费者?赞助人?参与者?还是合作者?艺术工作者如何与他们一起工作?是出售或赠与门票?邀请他们观看?还是主动走向他们?
  • 你如何看待艺术表演学与社会表演学之间的既区别又重合的关系?